Why You Need A “Dose of the Ghost”! An in Depth teaching on the Baptism of the Holy Ghost

holy-ghost-in-form-of-a-white-pigeon copyDiscover why every believer needs the “Baptism of the Holy Ghost” to walk in Power, Authority and Victory in their personal Lives. This message is an in depth teaching on how a believer progresses from the “Baptism of John” unto Repentance to the “Baptism of Jesus” with the Holy Ghost and Fire. Did you know that Jesus Commanded his Disciples to receive the “Promise of the Father” on the Day of Pentecost? When Jesus was Baptized by John the Baptist he immediately was led into the Wilderness to be tempted of the Devil for 40 Days and Nights and returned in the Power of the Holy Spirit. If Jesus needed this Power why would we not? Discover how this Baptism of Power will revolutionize your walk with God and bring greater Authority and Revelation. This message will be coming soon on DVD as well. To get your copy on CD Just click below:

Why You Need a Dose of the Ghost CD – $5

About END TIME HEADLINES

End Time Headlines is a ministry created to provide resources to equip believers and to inform the discerning of the "Signs and Seasons" in which we are in. Our Mission is to inform our readers and viewers of Prophetic Events and how they are unfolding before our very eyes thru News and Headlines presented from a "Prophetic Prospective" in light of the Holy Bible. We strive to operate in excellence and in Integrity to provide accurate and reliable sources to inform our readers.
This entry was posted in MESSAGES. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Why You Need A “Dose of the Ghost”! An in Depth teaching on the Baptism of the Holy Ghost

  1. Louanne says:

    thank you for your post Rick ….*smiles*

  2. James Atkinson says:

    I have been in the AOG since 1983 and even attended an AOG college in Texas right after High School. In my early years in the denomination, my parents were in leadership positions in the body we attended and, as a result, I was a “fly on the wall” kid-in-the-living-room during more than a few dinner table discussions about things a Jr High kid doesn’t need to know about people in his church. At the same time, I saw these same people giving others a definitive “a+b=c” solution to the whole Speaking-in-Tongues issue. Even as a kid, I could see the holes in this lifestyle and teaching.
    Over the years, I have departed from the AOG and even from church altogether as a result of the disillusionment that I had because of the self-righteous hypocrisy I had witnessed in the church all my life.
    This departure from God and His Church (…at large, not one particular denomination or congregation) resulted in some very destructive life choices, the consequences of which I still deal with to this day.
    There was a point in early 2002 when I was confronted with the truth of Matthew 11:28-30. Through this verse, God reached out to my soul and made me realize that I thought being a Christian was a hassle, so I ditched it and ran the other way. As a result, my life had become very difficult and destructive to me and my family and friends. Jesus offered to trade burdens with me and I took Him up on it.
    Since then, God has restored my life and I’m grateful to Him for it.
    All that to say this…I have seen the “Baptism in the Holy Spirit” taken to extremes and misinterpreted and misused all my life. I have heard a lot of bogus hokey perpetrated as “Thus Sayeth the Lord” all my life.
    Speaking in tongues is like the SMELL of propane. Its only purpose is to identify bits presence. Propane is very powerful and, undetected, very dangerous. Unfortunately, propane is, in itself, undetectable. So, they add an oderant to the gas to identify its presence. Speaking in tongues is not the point, but it IS identified in Scripture as the EVIDENCE of the Baptism of the Holy Spirit. There is the tongues that comes with the Baptism and there is the gift of tongues as a prophetic tool. if you are genuinely searching for truth, search these things out. If you are searching for an argument…I am not your man.
    BTW… Dan Morrison, I would like to be friends with an honest person like yourself. Don’t let people deter you from the truth of God. They are not Him!!!!

    • Dan Morrison says:

      James, Thank You SO very much for your honesty and openness.. I SO appreciate that. You have more exposure to the AOG/Pentecostal/Charismatic genre than I ever could…I suppose maybe all of the angst and worry and self-doubt I have unnecessarily put myself through these past years got me to the point where I needed to make my faith my OWN…I am of the belief that we need to show unity in the essentials, tolerance in the non-essentials and charity in EVERYTHING…There are brothers and sisters in Christ who do speak in other languages, God bless ’em…those gifts are not for everybody…Thank you for alluding to Matt 11vv 28-30..that scripture has brought me great solace and comfort throughout the years…God has not given to us the spirit of fear, but of power and of love and a sound mind…THAT is his promise to us…I suppose I am learning not to judge Christ and the Holy Spirit by the excesses of some of their ”fan club”…Glad that you were led home back to your faith….If you wish to converse further, my regular email is przncp@comcast.net Blessings to you and yours..

  3. When we are saved, the Holy Spirit comes to in dwell every believer, but when we are baptised in the Holy Spirit, we are empowered to live the life God called us to. We may also receive the gift of tongues at that point and we may not, but if you don’t receive the gift to pray in tongues, it doesn’t mean that you are not baptised in the Holy Spirit because that is just one of the gifts. So the point is, you can be baptised in the Holy Spirit for empowerment to live your life for Gods glory and possibly receive the gift of tongues at the same time or later.

    • Anonymous says:

      Debra, I agree with your statement…Unity Is not always Uniformity…I am of the opinion that the Holy Spirit enables us to serve, that the ”Baptism” of the Holy Spirit is an empowerment, when it comes to either speaking in languages other than our mother tongue, or being given grace to bear under adversity, to more fully comprehend scripture and a host of other things…Blessings to you and yours…..

    • Sharlane says:

      Corinthians 12
      Spiritual Gifts
      1 Now concerning spiritual gifts, brethren, I would not have you ignorant.
      2 Ye know that ye were Gentiles, carried away unto these dumb idols, even as ye were led.
      3 Wherefore I give you to understand, that no man speaking by the Spirit of God calleth Jesus accursed: and that no man can say that Jesus is the Lord, but by the Holy Ghost.
      4 ¶ Now there are diversities of gifts, but the same Spirit.
      5 And there are differences of administrations, but the same Lord.
      6 And there are diversities of operations, but it is the same God which worketh all in all.
      7 But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to every man to profit withal.
      8 For to one is given by the Spirit the word of wisdom; to another the word of knowledge by the same Spirit;
      9 to another faith by the same Spirit; to another the gifts of healing by the same Spirit;
      10 to another the working of miracles; to another prophecy; to another discerning of spirits; to another divers kinds of tongues; to another the interpretation of tongues:
      11 but all these worketh that one and the selfsame Spirit, dividing to every man severally as he will. Rom. 12.6-8
      12 ¶ For as the body is one, and hath many members and all the members of that one body, being many, are one body: so also is Christ. Rom. 12.4, 5
      13 For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether we be Jews or Gentiles, whether we be bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit.
      14 ¶ For the body is not one member, but many.
      15 If the foot shall say, Because I am not the hand, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body?
      16 And if the ear shall say, Because I am not the eye, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body?
      17 If the whole body were an eye, where were the hearing? If the whole were hearing, where were the smelling?
      18 But now hath God set the members every one of them in the body, as it hath pleased him.
      19 And if they were all one member, where were the body?
      20 But now are they many members, yet but one body.
      21 And the eye cannot say unto the hand, I have no need of thee: nor again the head to the feet, I have no need of you.
      22 Nay, much more those members of the body, which seem to be more feeble, are necessary:
      23 and those members of the body, which we think to be less honorable, upon these we bestow more abundant honor; and our uncomely parts have more abundant comeliness.
      24 For our comely parts have no need: but God hath tempered the body together, having given more abundant honor to that part which lacked:
      25 that there should be no schism in the body; but that the members should have the same care one for another.
      26 And whether one member suffer, all the members suffer with it; or one member be honored, all the members rejoice with it.
      27 ¶ Now ye are the body of Christ, and members in particular.
      28 And God hath set some in the church, first apostles, secondarily prophets, thirdly teachers, Eph. 4.11 after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, governments, diversities of tongues.
      29 Are all apostles? are all prophets? are all teachers? are all workers of miracles?
      30 have all the gifts of healing? do all speak with tongues? do all interpret?
      31 But covet earnestly the best gifts.
      ¶ And yet show I unto you a more excellent way.

      Why is there an emphasis on speaking in tongues when that is the least of the gifts???
      1 Corinthians 14 Prophecy and Tongues

      14 Pursue love, and desire spiritual gifts, but especially that you may prophesy. 2 For he who speaks in a tongue does not speak to men but to God, for no one understands him; however, in the spirit he speaks mysteries. 3 But he who prophesies speaks edification and exhortation and comfort to men. 4 He who speaks in a tongue edifies himself, but he who prophesies edifies the church. 5 I wish you all spoke with tongues, but even more that you prophesied; for[a] he who prophesies is greater than he who speaks with tongues, unless indeed he interprets, that the church may receive edification.
      Tongues Must Be Interpreted

      6 But now, brethren, if I come to you speaking with tongues, what shall I profit you unless I speak to you either by revelation, by knowledge, by prophesying, or by teaching? 7 Even things without life, whether flute or harp, when they make a sound, unless they make a distinction in the sounds, how will it be known what is piped or played? 8 For if the trumpet makes an uncertain sound, who will prepare for battle? 9 So likewise you, unless you utter by the tongue words easy to understand, how will it be known what is spoken? For you will be speaking into the air. 10 There are, it may be, so many kinds of languages in the world, and none of them is without significance. 11 Therefore, if I do not know the meaning of the language, I shall be a foreigner to him who speaks, and he who speaks will be a foreigner to me. 12 Even so you, since you are zealous for spiritual gifts, let it be for the edification of the church that you seek to excel.

      13 Therefore let him who speaks in a tongue pray that he may interpret. 14 For if I pray in a tongue, my spirit prays, but my understanding is unfruitful. 15 What is the conclusion then? I will pray with the spirit, and I will also pray with the understanding. I will sing with the spirit, and I will also sing with the understanding. 16 Otherwise, if you bless with the spirit, how will he who occupies the place of the uninformed say “Amen” at your giving of thanks, since he does not understand what you say? 17 For you indeed give thanks well, but the other is not edified.

      18 I thank my God I speak with tongues more than you all; 19 yet in the church I would rather speak five words with my understanding, that I may teach others also, than ten thousand words in a tongue.
      Tongues a Sign to Unbelievers

      20 Brethren, do not be children in understanding; however, in malice be babes, but in understanding be mature.

      21 In the law it is written:

      “With men of other tongues and other lips
      I will speak to this people;
      And yet, for all that, they will not hear Me,”[b]

      says the Lord.

      22 Therefore tongues are for a sign, not to those who believe but to unbelievers; but prophesying is not for unbelievers but for those who believe. 23 Therefore if the whole church comes together in one place, and all speak with tongues, and there come in those who are uninformed or unbelievers, will they not say that you are out of your mind? 24 But if all prophesy, and an unbeliever or an uninformed person comes in, he is convinced by all, he is convicted by all. 25 And thus[c] the secrets of his heart are revealed; and so, falling down on his face, he will worship God and report that God is truly among you.
      Order in Church Meetings

      26 How is it then, brethren? Whenever you come together, each of you has a psalm, has a teaching, has a tongue, has a revelation, has an interpretation. Let all things be done for edification. 27 If anyone speaks in a tongue, let there be two or at the most three, each in turn, and let one interpret. 28 But if there is no interpreter, let him keep silent in church, and let him speak to himself and to God. 29 Let two or three prophets speak, and let the others judge. 30 But if anything is revealed to another who sits by, let the first keep silent. 31 For you can all prophesy one by one, that all may learn and all may be encouraged. 32 And the spirits of the prophets are subject to the prophets. 33 For God is not the author of confusion but of peace, as in all the churches of the saints.

      34 Let your[d] women keep silent in the churches, for they are not permitted to speak; but they are to be submissive, as the law also says. 35 And if they want to learn something, let them ask their own husbands at home; for it is shameful for women to speak in church.

      36 Or did the word of God come originally from you? Or was it you only that it reached? 37 If anyone thinks himself to be a prophet or spiritual, let him acknowledge that the things which I write to you are the commandments of the Lord. 38 But if anyone is ignorant, let him be ignorant.[e]

      39 Therefore, brethren, desire earnestly to prophesy, and do not forbid to speak with tongues. 40 Let all things be done decently and in order.

  4. Rick says:

    Dan, I appreciate your “unease” of fringe groups. I grew up around traditional pentecostals as well. My understanding is a little different from yours tho. Tongues comes AS THE SPIRIT gives the utterance (Acts 2:4). So I dont believe you can “teach” someone how to speak in tongues. However Acts 19 shows that receiving the Holy Spirit is not a “conversion” only event.
    Not to be long winded on this venue.
    The Spirit Baptism Experience is not a religious thing, denominal thing, or just an added gift thing…it is a Jesus n Peter said you need it, thing… Lord bless ya

    • Anonymous says:

      Rick, Thanks for your measured and grace seasoned response…I halfway expected to get a response telling me that I was a vile reprobate who doesn’t ”have the spirit”..We can agree to disagree agreeably, kudos for diversity within the church of Christ…we ARE brothers in Christ and it is OK to not always walk in lock-step unless unity is called for when we speak of the non-negotiables of the faith, the faith that our savior died for…Blessings to you and yours…

  5. Pretty spooky no matter how you look at it. 🙂

    • Dan Morrison says:

      Many years ago my wife and I attended a church in Tacoma that was loosely affiliated with the Assemblies of God..they had a class on how to ”speak in tongues”, so I gave it a shot. The pastor told me that all I needed to do was to stand up, close my eyes, empty my head and just start talking, and ”voila”, I would speak in tongues…Guess What ?…Nothing Happened..I just stood there looking like an idiot with everyone looking at me… If Pentecostals/charismatics want to speak in whatever tongue they want to, God bless ’em…My own opinion is that the believer is endowed with the Holy Spirit at the moment of conversion..there are, however, many and varied further empowerments and fillings…Some people just utter unintelligible gibberish, some folks bounce around and roll on the floor and bark like Dogs…Please do not misunderstand me…I’m not against the Holy Spirit..The H.S. was given by God to be our ”paracletus”, or comforter…he speaks to our hearst, illumines scripture for us and intercedes for us in prayer to God when we don’t have the words..I just have issues about how he is maligned and misrepresented…..Same thing that I REALLY am at odds with the party line of the Pentecostals is this notion that we possess some aject and unfettered RIGHT to physical healing…GOD is the source of all healing, he can hela via divine fiat, he can heal through the hands of a skilled surgeon or the chemical reaction of a properly prescribed medication, or the wise counsel of a mental health professional or a close friend..He can ”heal” by allowing someone to get a good nights sleep for a few nights in a row, but when we, as if WE could, purport that we have an ABSOLUTE right to healing, we try to strip away God’s sovereignty..HE is the one who decides who is healed..NOT US…He loves his children and sometimes puts illness or misfortune into our lives so we will run to him, as we SHOULD do…anyways, that’s my story and i’m stickin’ with it….Blessings

  6. Dan Morrison says:

    Sorry for the sarcasm..it was disrespectful to you and I do apologize…We just possess vastly different viewpoints on the person and the works of the Holy Spirit. I guess I shy away from those who, and I’m not saying this to you, say that every believer should speak in tongues or prophesy. Years ago I attended an AOG church where one of the pastors said to me that all I need to do to speak in tongues was to close my eyes and empty all thoughts from my mind and to simply begin talking and before I knew it, I would speak in tongues…Guess What ? NOTHING happened..THAT experience has made me weary and somewhat cynical about those who, in a fervent fashion, say that every believer should speak in a different tongue. My understanding of the Book of Acts was that ”tongues” were given to select believers, in a language not known to the speaker..this established credibility to the gentile believers and those who didn’t speak Hebrew, greek or Aramaic. Anyways, that’s my take on this issue…BTW, at this AOG church, there existed a subtle undercurrent of exclusivity that if you spoke in tongues, you had ”arrived” and that if you didn’t, you were somewhat of a second class Christian..If you speak in tongues, fine, that is the gift that you were given to edify the body of Christ…Another sore spot I have are those who INSIST that, according to Isaiah 53, that we possess an absolute and unfettered RIGHT to physical healing. I don’t agree with that assertion. ALL healing is ultimately from God..he can heal via divine fiat, he can heal through the hands of a skilled surgeon, he can heal through the chemical reaction of a properly prescribed medication or from the wise counsel of a mental health professional or close friend. But when someone believes that they possess a RIGHT to physical healing, they are, as if they could, attempting to strip God of his sovereignty…

    • MelC says:

      Amen! The other thing I’m quite miffed at lately, if we are to come closer o God or help others… We have these carrots dangled in front of us, yet they cost something. God gave the Holy Spirit freely… We are to share and yeah and spread the Word… Freely! How do many believers who are still on “milk” ever hope o gain more knowledge when they must pay or it Ina world where their fund are dwindling and scarce. Sigh

      • Toni Adler says:

        I agree with you MelC. We have a rampant Balaam spirit being accepted by our culture. The power to bless or curse, used for our benefit. Like a magic spell, but always at a cost. We are commanded to Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy, and drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give. This seems clear to me but every book and teaching offering the knowledge of the Spirit is always for a “donation”. *WINK* Is this a sign of Gnostic infiltration. Is knowledge the one to be worshiped, and coveted? If you can obtain knowledge you can obtain eternal life. Right? God forbid. I believe that John warned us of this. As for me I vow to stop purchasing teachings from people who’s only visible fruit is only prosperity. This is not a fruit of the Spirit. Jesus taught us how to verify false teachers. Consider that knowledge also NOT a fruit of the Spirit.

  7. Dan Morrison says:

    What is this ”Dose of the Ghost” stuff… The Holy Spirit is endowed to each believer at the moment of conversion…plain and simple. There are, however, many fillings and empowerments. The Holy Spirit is a person, not a ”fire”, or a ”force”…this is why I shy away from the more fringe pentecostal/charismatic genre…always beating you over the head or sweating you to seek more ”experiences”….Why these groups pine for something that EVERY believer ALREADY has is beyond me….just sayin’

    • Annie says:

      If you receive the Holy Spirit/Ghost at conversion….then why did the believers in Acts 19:1-6 not have it? Neither did the believers in Acts 8: 14-17.
      Acts 2:37,38 says to be saved we:
      Repent
      Be baptized in Jesus name
      and
      Receive the Holy Ghost
      Please show me scripture that says you receive or get endowed with the Holy Spirit at conversion. In the book of Acts which was the very beginning of the church (Acts 2:47), it clearly states scripture after scripture WHEN they received the Holy Ghost. You should read the book of Acts and get the truth.

  8. Pingback: Canada: 7.500 song birds drop dead/Rockets hit Turkey – False Flag to blame Assad?/1/3 of Europeans to live in poverty by 2025 says repot/Kenyan woman enslaved by Saudi Princess?/ Afghanistan: explosion in Kabul/Oil released into Colorado Floodwater

  9. Pingback: Canada: 7.500 song birds drop dead/Rockets hit Turkey – False Flag to blame Assad?/1/3 of Europeans to live in poverty by 2025 says repot/Kenyan woman enslaved by Saudi Princess?/ Afghanistan: explosion in Kabul/Oil released into Colorado Floodwater

  10. Pingback: Canada: 7.500 song birds drop dead/Rockets hit Turkey – False Flag to blame Assad?/1/3 of Europeans to live in poverty by 2025 says repot/Kenyan woman enslaved by Saudi Princess?/ Afghanistan: explosion in Kabul/Oil released into Colorado Floodwater

  11. indio77@comcast.net says:

    Dose of the Spirit!? Ghosts are from Hell!!

    • Annie says:

      The Bible calls the Holy Spirit the HOLY GHOST as well. (Acts 19:2, 1:2, 2:4, 9:8, 9:1, 13:2,52), (2 Cor. 6,6, 13:14), (2 Tim. 1:14), (1 Cor. 6:19), (Heb. 2:4, 6:4. 3:7 10:15).
      Mark 15:37 “And Jesus cried with a loud voice, and gave up the ghost.” KJV
      You need to look up the word “spirit” and “ghost” in the Bible and the dictionary. They mean the SAME THING.

      • Anonymous says:

        Ghost is an Anglo Saxon word used during the translation of the KJV of the Bible that means “divinely invited guest”, it does not mean spook or ghost as our culture knows it. Just another example, “wine” as we know it today did not capture that meaning till the time of prohibition. Wine in biblical times carried many different meaning to include a jelly like substance.

  12. Pingback: Why You Need A “Dose of the Ghost”! An in Depth teaching on the Baptism of the Holy Ghost | Gospel World News, Inc.

  13. Joe Myles says:

    I have subscribed to your page for about a year now and for the last few months have not been able to comment on any of your posts on Facebook. Why is this?

Comments are closed.